So it has been brought to my attention that nobody knows exactly what took place during my mystery two months in Herzogenaurach, Germany. Such a charming city/ town/ village? home to the Adidas headquarters. I think Adidas is planning to take over the world starting with a beautiful new spaceship inspired building, but nobody would tell me details… Instead I did a lot of clicking and copying and drinking and searching and drawing and drinking and finding and learning which really was incredible.

At first I .. researched for new season SS13. ‘Shall we put it here or put it there?’ Nice treat to be able to spend time searching through all the stuff I had previously been too busy to see (daily style.com check ups during fashion weeks, yes), and consider how it could be great for Stella McCartney for Adidas. Also thought about new fabric and trim direction. . Recyclable, biodegradable, light-up, sweet smelling, changing colour, luxury polyester? Not yet, but some innovative things never-the-less. Definitely a benefit of being in a company the size of Adidas, the people come to you. No more Shepherds Bush for me (although I love it) , just a casual flick through the library.

Then I… observed fittings for the previous season collection AW12. I learnt that it is a very long journey from sketch to store. The CAD is wrong, the garment is wrong, the girl looks ugly. Bad… so I spent some painful hours updating CADs, line by line, stitch by stitch. I was entertained at the beginning but that only lasted about an hour. I can’t lie, this was extremely monotonous for a range of this size, but at the same time extremely important.

Then I… had a drink or two with Norman and Phoebe.

Then I… researched and designed some accessories for SS13, which I heard that Stella enjoyed. Luckily. I wish I could put some images on here but I feel like I might be beheaded for spoiling the surprise.

Very nice ending to the internship, leaving on a high note, back to London to be unemployed. See yooouuu Stella BU, special thanks to taxi driver, lifesaver and super-talent Phoebe Heess. She will be winning very soon.

Leave a Reply

